Every time I think scammers could not possibly hit a new low, they go to great lengths to prove me wrong. What are the scammers of 2009 doing, you ask? Why, purchasing goods with stolen credit card information and “hiring” others to ship the goods overseas for them, of course. Amazing.

Stay Away from Magenta Service.

Richard Milner is currently making the rounds on craigslist and various work at home forums with his advertisement:


Magenta Service is a logistics company offering a wide spectrum of services in cargo delivery worldwide. We are currently hiring for part-time position of Mailing Assistant to sort and inspect inbound correspondence for damage.

Primary job requirements:

* Age over 21 years
* Having a Digital Camera or a Cell Phone Camera
* Ability to print and scan documents
* Ability to lift packages weighing up to 40lbs.

If you believe that you can meet these basic requirements and are interested in joining our company as a well-paid employee, please contact us at EMAIL – richardmilnertr@gmail.com

Best regards,
Richard Milner
Magenta Service

Should you send a reply to that email, you’ll receive the following email from Jeffrey Milner. This can mean only one of two things, this is a family scam operation, or someone is suffering from a bit of an identity crisis.

Hello ,

We attached the Job description and the Application Of Employment.

Please read carefully all the conditions of work. If you are interested in this job opportunity, please fill out the attached application form and email it to us or fax it to (866) 289-6062.

Best Regards,
Jeffrey Milner
Magenta Service

Attached to that email will be two documents. The first is an application form, but the second contains the “Job Description” which offers some clues as to what you’ll be doing.


Your main job responsibilities will include receiving packages weighing up to 30-40lbs, various correspondences and its further forwarding. All mailing expenses will be covered by our company.

We will provide you with the access to the online control panel, where you will be able to communicate with your designated manager, be notified about any upcoming packages, and receive detailed instructions about further mail forwarding.

For each received and forwarded package you will be paid $35. During the first month of your work with the company, the number of packages will be limited to 20 items. Thus, your expected income for the first month can be $700. After that the volumes of work will be increasing and the payment for each package you forward will be increased to $40.

Since the Mailing Assistant is employed as an independent contractor, he/she must be solely responsible for declaring earned wages to IRS in the official F1099MSC form during the tax season.

Similar scams have been operating for a while now. The goods you receive and have to subsequently ship will be purchased by stolen credit cards. You’ll then have to ship them overseas with the promise of reimbursement and payment for your efforts. There are two major issues here.

  • You won’t get paid for your work and you’ll be out the hundreds of dollars you spent on shipping costs.
  • Once the authorities catch on to fraudulent credit card activity, they will be coming after YOU. You received stolen goods then sent them overseas.

Bottom line. Stay far away from Magenta Service and any other “shipping” work at home jobs.

BBB Rating for Magenta Services

Based on BBB files, Magenta Services has a BBB Rating of F.

Reasons for this rating include:

  • BBB concerns with the industry in which this business operates.
  • BBB does not have sufficient information to determine how long this business has been operating.
  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business.

Magenta Service Contact Information

Name: Magenta Services
Phone: (901) 473-9323
Fax: (866) 289-6062
Address: 5094 Poplar Ave Memphis, TN 38117-7617
Email: richardmilnertr@gmail.com

There's only ONE program I really recommend. It helped me turn my 'hobby' into a $10,000+ per month money making machine. Click here for the exact formula I followed.

Join the Discussion

  • Andrea K.
    Andrea K.

    Thank you all for investigating this issue. I work for the aforementioned Memphis library. We are taking legal steps to take care of “Magenta Services.”

  • Steve

    Wow! Thanks for taking the time to investigate that. I know these types of scams operate entirely overseas, but use virtual numbers and fake addresses based in the US.

    I’ve already written to the host and asked them to investigate the matter, but the host operates out of Russia and I don’t know how effective it will be in this case.

  • Miss Money Hunter
    Miss Money Hunter

    Interesting. Their website looks professional but it sure doesn’t offer up much real information (and no names).

    I was gonna offer to drive out there and see what was at 5094 Poplar since I live in Memphis and don’t live very far from there, but after looking around Google Maps and Google Street View a bit – and knowing there wasn’t much out there but Clark Tower and White Station Tower, two of the tallest structures (if not THE tallest, in the case of Clark Tower) in the county, I was intrigued.

    I located the address on Google Maps/Street View immediately ‘cos it’s the only thing between the two towers, which are at 5050 and 5100 Poplar respectively, and looked, and thought, “But that looks like…”

    And indeed it is. It’s a branch of the Memphis Public Library, the Poplar-White Station branch to be specific, at 5094 Poplar. I thought for a minute maybe it had closed down due to the large newer main library having opened up in the 3000s of Poplar a few years ago, but nope, according to the library’s website, the 5094 Poplar branch appears to still be open:


    The phone number on the “Magenta Services” website (same one you list) and the local fax number on their site are both landlines, but “unpublished”. I Googled the 473 exchange a bit and found most addresses with that prefix to be way out in Collierville or Bartlett, suburbs that are both a pretty far piece from 5094 Poplar, but then I found something even more interesting. A former marketing colleague of mine who lives over two hours away from Memphis has a phone number in the 901 area code with the 473 prefix… so this is obviously a prefix that is often given out to “virtual phone number” users.

    Anyway, yeah, 5094 Poplar is most definitely and assuredly a branch of the Memphis library, but something tells me Magenta Services is only interested in sending mail, not receiving it. ;)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *